Maroma intercultural

9/21 8PM

Circus at Centro Cultural de San Pablo. This was a collaboration between Pasatono Orchestra, Maroma Company  of San Miguel Amatitlán’s Mixtec community, and Transatlancirque France. The act tries to converge different cultures and different circus acts, including traditional rope, pantomimes, cantatas, music and acrobatics. Another goal is to promote cultural exchange between Europe and Latin America through artistic performances including circus, music, theater, dance, visual and other disciplines.

According to a webpage on Marona intercultural, the rope has a significant meaning in Oaxacan culture.

“La vida es como la maroma. ¿Y qué es la maroma? Es como la vida. /La maroma es como la vida, ¿y qué es la vida?, es como la maroma”.  (“Life is like a rope.  And what is the rope? Like life. /The rope is like life, and what is life?,  It is like the rope.”)

-Rubén Luengas Pérez

I understood about 20% of the jokes. I’ll be able to understand fast Spanish soon! I’ll practice more! I felt a little worried for the acrobat on the swing because I saw that they had to use people to hold down the structure with ropes. I understand that it may be a just an extra precaution, but it still made me very nervous! It was like an warning sign for me for me that the structure is not as solid as I would like it to be or at least not as secure as I’m used to seeing structures in circuses in the U.S.

 

Leave a comment